Study Abroad in United Kingdom

The United Kingdom consists of England, Wales, Scotland (which together make up Great Britain) and Northern Ireland. The capital city of the UK is London, which is also the capital of England. The capital of Wales is Cardiff, for Scotland it is Edinburgh, and for Northern Ireland it is Belfast.

The population of the UK is estimated to be around 63 million (England: 53 million, Scotland: 5.3 million, Wales: 3 million, Northern Ireland: 1.8 million). The United Kingdom is a parliamentary democracy which means the government is elected by the people. There is a general election once every five years. The Prime Minister leads the government with the support of the cabinet and ministers. The UK is has been in the process of leaving the European Union since 2016 and still uses the pound instead of the Euro.

The UK has a fascinating history dating back to 6500 BC. You’ll find monuments marking its history, from Stonehenge to Buckingham Palace All over the UK. The UK is also home to over 28 cultural and natural UNESCO World Heritage Sites and Heritage Cities including Edinburgh, Bath, Canterbury, Chester, Durham, Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon and York.

uk UK Flag Map

*Video courtesy of Visit Britain

Program Details

  • Must be between the ages of 16 and 18
  • Placed with carefully selected host family


  • 5 or 3 month program starts in August or January
  • Academic year program available upon request
  • Fall Semester Application Deadline: May 31st
  • Spring Semester Application Deadline: October 31st

Program Costs

  • Semester – $9,600
  • 3 months – $8,600

Plus health/liability insurance – $80/month
$1000 deposit due with application
**Prices are subject to change**

High School System

Students in the United Kingdom have the choice to pursue further academic qualifications, vocational qualifications, or join the work force after completing the GCSEs (General Certificate of Secondary Education) at age sixteen in secondary school.

The UK has a wide range of school types to choose from, all operated by the State for those pursuing further academic qualifications. They provide free tuition to students within the United Kingdom (and the European Union until the UK is no longer a part of it) but require international students to pay tuition fees. These school types include:

  • Secondary Schools with Sixth Form – Students stay on and take A-Levels at their secondary school
  • Sixth Form Colleges – Specialized schools to study A-Levels or BTECS
  • Academies – State schools operated independently outside of the Local Education Authority (often sponsored by businesses etc.). Same structure as Secondary & 6th form colleges, usually with a specialization in certain subject areas (i.e. Math & Science and Performing Arts)
  • Colleges of Further Education – Separate establishment exclusive for education post-16 (A-Levels, BTECs etc.) Academies & 6th Form Colleges are usually more relaxed than Schools. Students can choose from a wide-range of subjects and are given more responsibility and independence in their school life.

Students attend these schools for an additional two years (ages 16-18) and take an exam at the end of both years (A1/S and A2). These years are required to receive the General Certificate of Education Advanced Level (GCE A Level). This is an entry qualification for Universities in the United Kingdom and worldwide.

Program Includes

High school acceptance and tuition fees

Host family placement

Visa support documents

Pre-departure orientation

Local orientation upon arrival

Monitoring and supervision by local partner while in the United Kingdom

24-hour emergency support

Program Does Not Include

International airfare

Domestic transportation to host family and within the UK

School textbooks and lunches

Extracurricular expenses for clubs, sports, etc.

Passport/visa/resident card fees

24-hour emergency support